Go to Minnesota Childrens Museum website Watch us on YouTubeBe a Fan on FacebookShare photos with us on FlickrKeep up with us on Twitter
Minnesota Childrens Museum Blog

This month, the state of Minnesota released a new booster seat law for parents. Are you aware of the updates? We've provided a brief overview here, but the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) has materials available for parents and caregivers to view and download at www.buckleupkids.state.mn.us — including a flier explaining the law, frequently asked questions and more.

Minnesota children under age 8 and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches tall must be in a child safety seat or booster seat, effective July 1. Under the booster law, children cannot use a seat belt alone until they are age 8 or 4 feet 9 inches tall — whichever comes first. To ensure child safety, DPS recommends parents keep children in a booster based on their height, rather than their age.

In Minnesota, three out of every four child restraints are used incorrectly — meaning children are riding in the wrong restraint or the restraint is not properly secured. DPS reports the following as the most common child passenger safety mistakes:

-Turning a child from a rear-facing restraint to a forward-facing restraint too soon.
-Restraint is not secured tight enough — it should not shift more than one inch side-to-side or out from the seat.
-Harness on the child is not tight enough — if you can pinch harness material, it’s too loose.
-Retainer clip is up too high or too low — should be at the child’s armpit level.
-The child is in the wrong restraint — don’t rush your child into a seat belt.


Post a Comment